Everytime you smile at someone, it is an action of love, a gift to that person, a beautiful thing. – Mother Teresa

Mere Seed Planter

Sometimes it’s about the little things. Smiling at someone or going a little out of my way for a person are both things that can make a difference in a person’s life. Sometimes I know what another person is going through and so I make a conscious effort to help, and other times I may not know the effect I can make on someone just by giving some love!
Sometimes I can make a difference in a child’s life by purchasing a pair of prom shoes for her and taking her to lunch. Some days its to throw together a last-minute birthday party for a little girl who feels forgotten. Some days its to help one of my own kids solve a problem lovingly and let them know I find my peace in trusting God and they can too. Some days its to just listen to a friend that needs to be heard. Sometimes its to come up with something really funny to make someone laugh out loud that hasn’t had much to laugh about lately. The love in our hearts can be shared by our actions everyday.

In the past it has been hard for me to let go… actually, it’s still hard when it comes to my kids and even other children or friends. I not only want to plant a seed, but I have felt it my responsibility to impose protection and see it through to full harvest. I worry, become anxious and over-analyze what will happen and how I can help move things along in a positive way… I think because #1 I don’t like to leave anything unfinished, and #2 I like a happy ending.

I have found that in the place God has me right now, it is my job to plant a seed, and sometimes that’s it. Plant the seed.
Being a mere seed planter is an important job, and is actually a hard job sometimes too. I have to let go… I have to trust and have faith that the growth and harvest are happening in God’s time and that I may or may not be a part of that.
It’s far beyond my job description to actually grow the plant and harvest the fruits. I am a mere seed planter, and I take it seriously with all my heart.

35714_405531154420_1855637_n

Leave a Reply

